About the authors

Oliver Wakeman is an award winning keyboardist, Pianist and composer. He was born into a musical family and is the eldest son of rock musician, Rick Wakeman. He has written and appeared on various albums, all of which have been released to critical acclaim.

2008 saw Oliver join Yes members Chris Squire, Steve Howe and Alan White for the ‘In the Present’ world tour with vocalist, Benoit David. When the Howe/Squire/White line became Yes, Oliver embarked on world tours throughout 2009, 2010 and 2011, performing over 150 shows as a member of the band.

In 2011 Oliver was credited as a performer and writer on the Yes studio release ‘Fly From Here’. He also appears on the Yes CD and DVD release ‘In the Present – Live from Lyon’ handling all the keyboard duties.

Following Chris Squire’s death, Oliver was inspired to finish off songs he had co-written while a member of Yes which was subsequently released as the mini-LP ‘From a Page’ in 2015.

Kevin Mulryne in 2022, shortly after Alan White died. Location: the basement of the Lucky Horseshoe Cafe, London, (now the Wildwood Kitchen), where Yes were formed and rehearsed in 1968. Poster created by long-time fan, John Kuehne, using a photo by Jerry and Lois Photography.

Kevin Mulryne has been a dedicated Yes fan since 1983 when he was leant a cassette tape of 90125 and Tormato.

Unfortunately born a bit too late to experience the Yes of the 1970s, he has made up for lost time by devoting thousands of hours to learning all he can about the band. As part of this exploration, Kevin founded the Yes Music Podcast in 2011 and, along with co-host Mark Anthony K, has produced more than 550 weekly episodes about the world’s greatest progressive rock band.

The show has featured interviews with dozens of musicians and others associated with Yes including:

  • Jon Anderson
  • Steve Howe
  • Alan White
  • Bill Bruford
  • Tony Kaye
  • Billy Sherwood
  • Geoff Downes
  • Oliver Wakeman
  • Tom Brislin

Up until today, Kevin’s favourite Yes album has remained Tormato and he has researched as many aspects of the classic work as possible for this book – the culmination of decades of obsession.